Administrative Structure of Punjab

Punjab has 5 Divisions each under the administrative control of Divisional Commissioner and 22 Districts each under the administrative control of a District Collector. The districts are subdivided into 82 Tehsils, which are under the administrative control of a Tehsildar. Each Tehsil consists of Sub Tehsils which are total 87 in number and blocks which are total 146 in number. The blocks consist of villages and the total number of villages in the state is 12,673. Apart from these there are 22 Zila Parishads, 10 Municipal Corporations, 95 Municipal Councils, 59 Nagar Panchayats and 28 Improvement Trusts.


Divisions 5
Districts 22
Sub Divisions 87
Tehsils 87
Sub Tehsils 82
Development Blocks 147
Municipal Corporations 10
Municipal Councils Class-I 28
Municipal Councils Class-II 45
Municipal Councils Class-III 26
Improvement Trusts 28
Nagar Panchyats 57
Market Committees 147
Gram Panchyats