Punjab, located in the north west of India, is one of the smallest and the most prosperous states of India. The five rivers Sutlej, Beas, Ravi, Chenab and Jhelum gave it its name ‘Punj-Aab’ or the ‘land of five waters’. As of today, only two rivers Sutlej and Beas flow through Punjab state in India. Raavi flows partially in Punjab, mainly along the international boundry of India and Pakistan and then enters Pakistan These rivers divide the state into three regions: Majha, Doaba and Malwa. Punjab is certainly a primarily agricultural state and enjoys the natural benefits of fertile soils and abundant waters.

The area of Punjab can be divided into Regions


Majha is a historical region of the Indian Punjab comprising the modern districts of Amritsar, Gurdaspur, Pathankot and Tarn Taran.  It lies between two of the five great rivers of the Punjab: the Ravi and the Sutlej.


Doaba is the region of Indian Punjab surrounded by the rivers Beas and Sutlej. The name “Doaba” literally translates to “land of two rivers” (“Do” two, “Ab” river; Punjabi). It is one of the most fertile regions of the world, and was the centre of the Green Revolution in India. To this day, it remains one of the largest per capita producers of wheat in the world. The Districts in Doaba are Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala and Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar (Nawan Shahr).


Malwa is a region of Punjab and parts of Haryana between the Sutlej and Yamuna rivers. People of Malwa are known for being great fighters, and warriors. The Malwa area makes up majority of the Punjab region consisting 14 districts. Cities such as Ludhiana, Patiala, Bhatinda and Mohali located in the Malwa region.